The journey begins….

My name is Olivia, I am a mostly self-taught, 12 year old, left-handed crocheter.

At the time of writing, I have been crocheting almost 8 years.

The journey for me began when I was 5 years old, after watching my mom crocheting I decided I would try to crochet as well.  My mom said that she would show me the chain stitch, but that she would not show me how to do single crochet until I could proficiently do the chain stitch.


Me doing the chain stitch at about 5 1/2 years old.

Olivia crocheting a chain stich_2009-07-14

I did lots of chains (and not very good ones) at first and spent about a year working on my chain stitch.

When I was 6 years old I was finally good enough that my mom showed me  single crochet.  My first attempts at single crochet were not at all good. My first “project” was supposed to be an I-don’t-know what, but it ended up looking like a green steel wool kitchen scrubby.

My second project was supposed to be a scarf but I kept accidentally decreasing on the ends, so I ended up calling it a shawl instead of a scarf.

My 2nd attempt at single crochet.

I started checking books out from our local library when I was about 7 years old and started perfecting my tension, keeping my ends nice and even and learning double and triple crochet.

The next 2 years I spent perfecting my skills and learning to read crochet patterns.

Finally when I was 10 years old I completed my first project from a pattern, the Dancing Poppies Mini Bolero from the book Crochet One Skein Wonders by Judith Durant and Edie Eckman, along with a pair of baby booties and a ruffled bonnet for a friend’s baby.



Later that year I started making amigurumi dogs from the book Ami Ami Dogs.

My first 6 dogs in the order that they were made, from left to right.
Three of the keychain sized dogs I made from the same book.



Last year I completed my first paid order, a Baymax doll for a boy who loves Baymax. Pattern can be found here. (Pattern is initially in Spanish, keep scrolling down for the English version.)

Me, crocheting my ongoing Spiderweb baby blanket

My current favorite things to crochet are: the keychain sized dogs pictured above and dolls (pictured below)

Two of the dolls I have made, big one is 14″ little one is 4″

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s